Science & Medical |
Australian Medical Association

Media Alert - 2019 AMA National Conference - Brisbane





Sofitel Brisbane, 24-26 May 2019

The 2019 AMA National Conference at Sofitel Brisbane begins tomorrow, with international speakers including the World Medical Association President, Professor Leonid Eidelman; Dr Barbara McAneny, the President of the American Medical Association; and Dr Michael Myers, a specialist in doctors’ health and the author of Why Physicians Die By Suicide: Lessons Learned from Their Families and Others Who Cared.

Dr Myers will speak at a special session on doctors’ mental health, chaired by Dr Mukesh Haikerwal, and with a panel including Dr Geoff Toogood, a Melbourne cardiologist who has used his own experiences with depression to start the #CrazySocks4Docs movement.

Ms Janet Anderson, the inaugural Aged Care Quality and Safety Commissioner, will take part in a panel discussion on improving clinical care in the aged care sector.

Dr McAneny will address the AMA Leadership Development Dinner, at which the winner of the 2019 AMA Doctor in Training of the Year will be announced.

The Day One highlights include:

Friday 24 May 2019:

10.00am          Opening Remarks

                        Welcome to Country

                        National Anthem

                        Declaration of Geneva

10.20am          President’s Address

                        AMA President, Dr Tony Bartone

10.45am          Policy and Advocacy Session

Doctors’ Health – Protecting Doctors and Their Families: A Call to Action


Dr Michael Myers, Professor of Clinical Psychiatry at SUNY-Downstate Medical Centre, Brooklyn, New York, and specialist in physician health

Dr Penny Browne, Chief Medical Officer, Avant

Dr Geoff Toogood, cardiologist and founder of CrazySocks4Docs Day

Dr Jessica Dean, intensive care trainee and beyondblue board director

Dr Helen Schultz, psychiatrist and doctors’ mental health advocate


Dr Mukesh Haikerwal AC, Chair, Advisory Committee, beyondblue’s National Doctors’ Mental Health Program

1.15pm            Award Presentation

                        MJA, MDA National Prize for Excellence in Medical Research

                        AMA Indigenous Medical Scholarship

2.30pm            Policy and Advocacy Session

Aged Care – Improving Clinical Care in an Era of Financial Constraint


Ms Janet Anderson, inaugural Commissioner, Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission

Ms Annie Butler, Federal Secretary, Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation

Dr Chris Davis, Geriatrician and past AMA Qld President

Professor Andrew Robinson, Co-Founder, Wicking Dementia Research and Education Centre

Ms Pat Sparrow, CEO, Aged and Community Services Australia (ACSA)


Dr Richard Kidd, Chair, AMA Council of General Practice


4.00pm            Address, Professor Leonid Eidelman, President, World Medical Association


4.10pm            Award Presentation

AMA Excellence in Healthcare Award


4.15pm            New Admissions to the AMA Roll of Fellows


5.30pm            President’s Welcome Reception

                        AMA Advocacy Awards


7.30pm            AMA Leadership Development Dinner

                        Blackbird Restaurant, Eagle Street Pier

Speaker: Dr Barbara McAneny, President, American Medical Association

[**Media to advise if they wish to attend this Dinner]


*************Notes for media:


Some sessions will be live streamed on the AMA website at and Media are welcome to attend the Conference, Gala Dinner, Leadership Development Dinner, and Welcome Reception.


There will be a media work room at the venue, and a room for media conferences and interviews. Media should report to Registration Desk or Media Room to collect Conference lanyards.


Please advise Maria Hawthorne at or on 02 6270 5478 if you will be attending the Conference, Gala Dinner, Leadership Development Dinner, and Welcome Reception. Journalists and crews attending the Conference to interview participants should liaise with Maria Hawthorne at or on 0427 209 753, and Odette Visser at or on 0407 726 905.


**The Twitter hashtag for the Conference is #amanatcon


23 May 2019


CONTACT:        John Flannery                     02 6270 5477 / 0419 494 761

                            Maria Hawthorne               02 6270 5478 / 0427 209 753


Follow the AMA Media on Twitter:
Follow the AMA President on Twitter:
Follow Australian Medicine on Twitter:
Like the AMA on Facebook